The Troubles Have Been Resolved…

The Troubles appear to have been resolved.

I took the bus from Dublin to Belfast this afternoon, just a short hop up the motorway, but coming into Northern Ireland from The Republic was a noticeable mood change. There is an easily perceptible cultureshift from south to north… like going from Dunedin to Otara.

I have spent the last few days in the company of friends and family in the Republic of Ireland… visiting family, meeting new family, and then embarking on my trip alone to the north, and then in a few days to Scotland. Today I left Dublin and the comfort of my good friend Issy’s house, into the unknown. It has been raining for days, grey skies, cold, grim. Now, for the first time in ages, I am alone and lonely. I have had a few pints of stout and have had a few conversations with stout drinking strangers, nattering about politics, weather, all of the polite topics…

So, I am hoping for a sunny day, a chance to get out and walk around.

Now that I am on the road after living in Bristol for a few months, I want to thank all of the wonderful friends, old and new, who have been part of the adventure…

In no particular order…

Gordon Brown, Jason, Skot, Ushma, Ben, Suria, Martha, Matthew, Luke Pash, Helene, Lou, all of the teaching staff, (especially Heron’s Moor, Headley Park and St. Augustine’s), Billy and Kitty Phelan, Seamus and Pat O’Connor, Anna and Annie Phelan, Kay Taylor and Andrew, Vic, Abby, and best of all, Issy, Donal, Min, Al and Eve. Mum, Dad, Jerry, Nina, Kylie, George, Yvonne, and the late, great Martin. And of course all of my wonderful friends back home. Thanks heaps for being such good friends and helping to make my time in on this trip so much fun. Arohanui.

See you all soon!

Jonny

~ by jonnyhanlon on August 13, 2008.

5 Responses to “The Troubles Have Been Resolved…”

  1. Hi Jonathan, Great to get your reportshHope the loneliness will pass.May be you’ll find a nice Scottish lassie to keep you company.Remember one section of your ancestory is Scottish.We had a week up in the wine regions of Marlborough last week and tasted
    much of the local products and survived.There has been exceptionally heavy snow in the mountain areas of both islands
    and it is atill pretty cold.Bring on Spring.We look forward to your return next month so enjoy your last weeks in the UK as much asyou can.The TV is full of the Olympics at the moment but we have yet to win a medal.Hope you see our friends in Inverness.
    Love from Nan and Grandad.

  2. hey jonny its ashley from collingwood. lol. :). how ya been?… ❤ evanesence.. :D.

    hi hi hi its hannah do you remember me any way……….B Y E:)
    hannah and ashley 🙂

  3. hi hi hi its hannah again how ya doing?:)………………B Y E:)

    HANNAH….:):):):):):):):)

  4. HELLO AGAIN HAVE YOU BEEN HAVING FUN?:)………………B Y E:)

    HANNAH….:):):):):):):):)

  5. Hi Johnny,
    It’s Katie here, (teaching P.A. at CAS) It’s great to see you are getting around Britain. I enjoyed the pics of Salisbury Plains. I was born near there.
    I am getting in contact with you because Reuben Swafford wants to use Room 1 to rehearse in and on top of that, he wants to use your drum kit to rehearse with. As you two seem to know each other I said I would try to contact you to see if this was a possibility. When you get this send us an email and let us know what you think.

    Anyway I won’t bother you any futher with school stuff, have a great time,

    Katie * ** **

Leave a comment