Home to Onekaka

Onekaka Inlet, Golden Bay, originally uploaded by Jonny Hanlon.

My journey is complete! I am home!

After a week in Nelson having a great time catching up with friends and doing a spot of lawn laying, I took my trusty Subaru over the hill.

This is the view from the front lawn of the house where I am staying at the moment… looking out over the Onekaka Inlet to Golden Bay beyond. Spring is here and that means variable weather… already there has been plenty of sun but also plenty of wind and rain. I am happy to be back, of course, but there is a strange backwards culture shock that takes place when you get back home. After Bristol I was really looking forward to getting back to the bay, particularly because I appreciate the space here so much. And it’s great. But after being crammed into a tiny flat in a busy city, the space here is so vast that you can almost get lost walking out to the letterbox.

I have had a couple of days working at school and am looking for other work to keep the food fund topped up through the holidays… Nonetheless I am enjoying not being at work every day!

Right now I am house and dogsitting at a friend’s house right on the beach in Collingwood. It is blowing a gale, pouring with rain, and freezing cold. I was planning on putting the net out to try to get some kahawai and crabs but that will have to wait. I am not wading into the ocean up to my belly in this weather!

Take care out there!

~ by jonnyhanlon on September 29, 2008.

2 Responses to “Home to Onekaka”

  1. Everybody wants to get into the act.Jimmy Durante

  2. *sigh*
    That looks lovely.

Leave a comment